Only Shops and Restaurants Will Remain Open During the Day

The government has declared a state of emergency for the territory of the Czech Republic due to health threats in connection with the demonstration of the presence of coronavirus known as SARS CoV-2.

Entry into the Czech Republic has been forbidden to foreigners from 15 risk countries, and the presence of people in catering establishments from 8 pm to 6 am. “It is about the health of people who must stay responsible,” said Prime Minister Andrej Babiš.

Since Friday, March 13, 2020, the government has also banned the theatrical, musical, film and other artistic performances, sports, cultural, religious, federal, dance events, exhibitions, festivals, pilgrimages, shows, tastings, markets, and trade fairs with attendance exceeding 30 people at a single time.

A similar restriction was applied to events with the attendance of over a hundred people up until now, which has been changed after Tuesday´s Security Council meeting decided upon by Minister of Health Adam Vojtěch. The decision to close schools was made at the very same meeting.

The latest change will disrupt sports matches, even without spectators, as the number of participants – athletes and personnel – exceeds 30 people. The football league matches will not be held.

Germany and Austria Borders Will Be Monitored

Deputy Prime Minister and Interior Minister Jan Hamacek said that the announcement of the emergency state would enable the government to respond more flexibly to the situation regarding the coronavirus. Babiš confirmed that ministers have the right to take special measures, but the Government has decided to consult the Cabinet on their decision.

Checkpoints will be active at 11 border crossing points, seven with Germany and four with Austria. International airports will be monitored as well.

Due to coronavirus infection, the government has banned foreigners from 15 risk countries entering the Czech Republic. Austria and Germany are amongst them, so foreigners will not be able to enter the Czech Republic via border crossings with these countries. The Czech government banned Czech citizens from travelling into these countries. Czechs can return from these countries. They, however, will have to undergo quarantine when travelling from high-risk areas.

The entry ban will start on Saturday, 14.3.2020. According to Prime Minister Babiš, it concerns citizens of China, Korea, and Iran. Among the European countries, it includes Italy, Spain, Austria, Germany, Switzerland, Sweden, the Netherlands, Belgium, Great Britain, Norway, Denmark, and France.

Hamáček stressed that the measure does not concern Czech citizens and foreigners with permanent or temporary residence in the Czech Republic. The government forbade them to travel to risk areas. The exception applies to lorry drivers, train crews, aircraft pilots and rescue system members. People employed abroad will also be able to cross the border but will have to prove their intent with employer confirmation.

Hamacek also said that the government stopped issuing visas and accepting visa applications. No new residence permits exceeding 90 days will be issued.